top of page
Writer's pictureMomSpo South Africa

Photographer | Kate Martens Photography

If you didn't know, the founders of MomSpo had never met each other before deciding to start this incredible hub for Modern South African Moms. While all three founders are South African Mom Bloggers, they reside in three different corners of South Africa. The reason for this is that each of them represent a completely different city, bringing flavour and inspiration from most of South Africa. They picked a city to meet for the first time, and it was the beautiful and hot Durban, South Africa.


Kate Marten was the incredible photographer who got to document their meeting, and it was an incredible morning in Umhlanga - in partnership with some beautiful brands such as, to name but a few, Vespa Umhlanga, Sweet Peas Handmade, Bella Gray Clothing, and MonKee and MeerKat.


A big part of documenting our meeting was picking the right photographer - one that is a Mother, a Mom Boss and who obviously is located in KZN. We couldn't have picked better photographer for this shoot, and so we have interviewed Kate Marten below so you can get a better idea of who she is, and what inspires her work and style.


Click here to view a gallery of these photo's taken by Kate Marten Photography.

Kate Marten Photography Interview


Kate, tell us a little bit about yourself...

Im Kate, a full time lifestyle and wedding photographer, owner of another side hustle Katkin and Co, children apparel,  mom to two little kiddies (Kinsey Rose - 3, and Benjamin Felix - 9 months) .


Wife and partner of many, many years, (17 years or so) to Hentie ( Brian). You can say my life is busy at the moment, sometimes crazy but I wouldn’t change anything for the world. 

Im a farm and small town girl at heart but have travelled and lived in many places in South Africa and the world. Home is where the heart is and always knew on my adventures that I would be back to our beautiful country to settle down. 


What camera do you use?


Im a Nikon user 


What are you favourite kinds of photography and style?


I love real moments, real emotions and my main aim is to capture as much of that as possible.  I want the person receiving the pics to see and feel emotion when looking at the them.  Yes we can all take a  posed picture and in most cases they lovely,  but I want my pictures to be a little more than that. I want to create a feeling of pure happiness, love and emotion when someone looks at them.  Its a powerful thing being able to freeze moments in time and I hope that what I photograph is more, than what you see, its how it makes you feel. 


How did you become a photographer full time?


I studied marketing and advertising after school, going into that when I got back from my travels.  Although it challenged me and I did enjoy it, it wasn’t my calling and I often found myself wanting more. Photography has always been a passion of mine, and I was always “that’ person with the camera and often found myself sneaking my digital point and shoot to every place I went. One day when it all just go too much, I decided then and there that I would pursue what I loved and ventured into my passion of photography. For about a year, a photographed anyone and anything that was willing. I assisted a lovely friend of mine Bron, who was a great mentor who taught me loads and I’m ever so grateful for her help.  When I felt confident enough I ventured on my own and never looked back. 

What challenges do you face as a working mom?


Do I have enough space to answer this?  Only kidding. Every day is a challenge. I think as a women we tend to try be all things, to all people. all the time. The best mom, the best wife. The best photographer. The best business owner ( ah the list can go on and on) I still need lots and lots of work but I’m slowly trying to take things one moment and time.  Ive realized that I can’t be everything to everyone and that’s ok.  Ive learnt that balance is the key to being successful, saying no is ok and opening myself up to be challenged and connect with people that can bring value to your life, is what I want to focus on. 


My family life is the most important thing to me and they come first no matter what. With saying that I also love what I do, so put a lot of strain on myself to be ‘perfect’ and it can be hard.  Some days are way harder than others and working for yourself has its pros and cons, But I keep reminding myself when I switch off my computer in the evening, that every day Is a new day and chance to get it right and I’m learning to just focus my efforts on the people and things that matter the most. Don’t sweat the small stuff and to remember the only thing we really can control is our own happiness.  


You can read more about Kate here: https://www.katemartens.co.za/about-kate

 

Kate is a family, portrait and wedding photographer based in KZN. You can reach Kate at hello@katemartens.co.za /

+27(82) 879 8328, or katemartens.co.za

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page