top of page
Writer's pictureMomSpo South Africa

Photographer | Samantha Maber

Prior to the launch of MomSpo, all three members enjoyed a family shoot for the content for the website. Shan was spoilt by a shoot by the talented Samantha Maber who knows just how to capture the magic that happens within moments, so if you are looking for a photographer in KZN, Samantha Maber covers Newborn, Family Shoots, Special events and more.


Here's a glimpse of the shoot Sam did for Shan:


So, we decided to interview the lovely Sam to get to know her a bit better...


Sam, tell us a bit about yourself?

I am a Durban girl ... born and raised. I love South Africa. Its uniqueness, its beauty, the people, koeksisters, the weather and its rugged coastline.


I love to TRAVEL. I spent my entire twenties traveling and filling my heart with beautiful places, incredible people and amazing adventures. I met the love of my life on one of Spains little Balearic Islands called Mallorca. We got married and have two incredible children.


I am besotted with my amazing husband and my two most precious gifts, my son and daughter. Family and Relationships mean the world to me. I love beautiful things, clean lines and COLOUR.


My eyes continuously seek the way lighting adds beauty to the sky, the colour of the leaves in the trees, the way it shines through the pink pampas grass on the hilly north coast. The way it catches the whispy bits in my childrens hair, the shadows on their faces, the colours of nature.


We are always our happiest when we are submerged in nature and each other. We love the ocean and exploring the rock pools. I am passionate about photography, life and people.

I love to capture beauty in the things I see. I love to dream.

What camera do you use?

I used canon for many many years.

We have recently moved over to a mirrorless option and I now shoot with a FUJI XT2

What are your favourite kinds of photography?

Photographing people and travel photography is my first love.

Lifestyle photography has a delicious natural beauty that totally appeals to me.

I enjoy capturing beauty in anything I see tho whether it be a sun kissed face, a bowl of steamy green noodle soup, a gorgeous interior, or a breathtaking landscape.


What best describes your style?

I love to capture moments, so I guess that makes my style more documentary.

My images and processing are clean, and I love making use of beautiful lighting.


How did you go from aspiring to Full time photography

When I got back from overseas I was lucky enough to edit for an amazing photographer who was very encouraging and taught me so much about the digital side of photography.

I started with small little jobs and everything took off so beautifully through referrals and word of mouth.


What challenges have you faced as a working mama.?

I love what I do so that has a lot of magic.

Being self employed means I am able to fetch my kids form school, take them to swimming lessons, or be able to shuffle my day around their needs.

However it does mean that everything takes doubley as long and the juggle can often mean working late at night. I am still trying to figure out the juggle, but as my littlest is still not at school, I have to really maximise the time that I have to work when she isn't needing me.

I find turning my phone on silent for a few hours in the morning is helpful to minimize distractions and just putting my head down and going for it.


 

To book a shoot with Sam, contact her on:

Email: sam@samanthamaber.com Phone: +27 76 385 5853

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page