top of page
Writer's pictureMomSpo South Africa

Creative South African lunchbox inspiration

By Lauren Stephen


Making a packed snack/lunch for Preschool last year was something new for me & I enjoyed putting together food combos & some fun themes I knew Blair would enjoy. These are a few of my favorites to make school lunches more fun to do, not only for you, but your kid will get a kick out of it too.


It’s hard working around the ‘no nuts’ policy & now the no processed/smoked meats, crackers, muffins, pastries, juice boxes & obviously no chocolates, chips etc. is a challenge so I like to make it fun by using cool tools & containers.



I like to use stainless steel lunch boxes, especially in summer! I sent Blair with a plastic lunchbox for an outing & she came back with a melted mess. All I could think of was her food sitting in hot plastic & it got me searching for better options. I found Lunchbots! They are life changing! Everything stainless steel & boy can they take a beating & still look sleek. I buy from https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/s//ref=mw_dp_a_s?ie=UTF8&k=LunchBots.



Their leakproof tubs are perfect for her applesauce (Blair’s new fave) or hummus, any dips or yogurt etc.


Her new water bottle this year is a Klean Kanteen Kid bottle, which is from Yuppiechef. It’s a stainless steel bottle wide enough to be ice friendly & best of all no plastic straw to clean & assemble (whoop whoop) also you can buy replacement lids for the bottles (say what?)



I also use a variety of sandwich cutters, cookie cutters, food picks, food pens, punches, rice moulds, silicone cups & sandwich presses. These add fun & can be useful for holding food together or separating & adding colour. I find these at a variety of shops & online.



Lunch bags & coolers with non-toxic gel ice packs are great for keeping food cool & I have kid friendly thermal double walled stainless containers for keeping food warm in winter.




I get lunch inspo from instagram & Pinterest and try out my own ideas to see what works. It’s not as hard or time consuming as it looks sometimes (sometimes) but it’s great knowing she has a healthy lunch with some extra fun added at times.


 

Mom Lauren & sisters Blair 👧🏼 and Lexi 👧🏻, and husband Darryn.

Honours degree in psychology, practiced only on the family

I like doing things myself including baking, building, art & my own nails (when I get a chance)

Unqualified hairdresser

Love fishing, junk food & comics

We live in Cape Town

Fashion, food & fun are what we are about.

Blogger at this link.


A version of this article can be found at: https://laurenstephen1.wordpress.com/2019/01/17/lunch-tools/

101 views1 comment

1 Comment


Tenneille Abrahams
Tenneille Abrahams
Sep 21, 2019

Just love that unicorn sandwich cutter 😍🦄

Like
bottom of page