top of page
Writer's pictureMomSpo South Africa

5 Tips for caring for your little girls hair

By Shan Fourie


My kiddies are still young and I’m still learning things about raising three different personalities every day. Something that I’m needing to learn very quickly about is how to care for little girls hair. Brooke’s hair has grown so much faster than the boys ever did - gosh I remember how bothered I was that they only started getting hair at 2 years old! Brooke on the other hand has thick, wavy hair, which is proving to get very knotty... and she isn’t too fond of a hair brush tugging at those little knots either! In desperation one day I lathered her in one of my {expensive} hair masks, only to find her hair seemed even more prone to knots and felt more coarse afterwards!




Here are some tips & tricks I’ve learnt along the way:

  1. I ensure we never leave clips and hair ties in her hair during naps or overnight as she moves so much in her sleep and it creates pull & stretch in her little strands and mattes around the hair ties.

  2. Don’t make it as if hair-washing is a task - try making it fun! Have a song that you sing together when washing hair. I show B her reflection so she can see all the “bubbles” on her “white” hair!

  3. Use a shampoo that is enriched with conditioning oils or conditioners. I was recently educated on the delicate nature of babies’ hair & the importance of using child & baby specific products only, as their hair is totally different to adult hair, and it doesn’t react as well to certain ingredients. Since using the Johnsons Baby Shiny Drops shampoo, B’s hair has been beautifully conditioned and relatively knot free, with a silky smooth, healthy feel.

  4. After washing we use a conditioning detangler spray with a Tangle Teezer brush, ensuring it dries as knot-free & straight as possible.

  5. On school days and busy-activity days I prefer to tie her hair up so she doesn’t get paint, food and everything else in it, plus it stays out of her eyes!


What hair tips can you add to take care of our little one’s luscious locks?

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page